Alphabet Meme

The Rules

1. Pick one film to represent each letter of the alphabet.

2. The letter “A” and the word “The” do not count as the beginning of a film’s title, unless the film is simply titled A or The, and I don’t know of any films with those titles.

3. Return of the Jedi belongs under “R,” not “S” as in Star Wars Episode IV: Return of the Jedi. This rule applies to all films in the original Star Wars trilogy; all that followed start with “S.” Similarly, Raiders of the Lost Ark belongs under “R,” not “I” as in Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark. Conversely, all films in the LOTR series belong under “L” and all films in the Chronicles of Narnia series belong under “C,” as that’s what those filmmakers called their films from the start. In other words, movies are stuck with the titles their owners gave them at the time of their theatrical release. Use your better judgement to apply the above rule to any series/films not mentioned.

4. Films that start with a number are filed under the first letter of their number’s word. 12 Monkeys would be filed under “T.”

5. Link back to Blog Cabins in your post so that I can eventually type “alphabet meme” into Google and come up #1, then make a post where I declare that I am the King of Google.

6. If you’re selected, you have to then select 5 more people.

Mine was done free-form. Whatever film popped into my head first was the one I picked, provided that I have seen it before. I didn’t want to just plug in my favorite films, which would be boring.

Amelie
Barton Fink
Conversation
Departed
Elephant Man
Fargo
Gosford Park
Heat
Ikiru
Jurassic Park
Kate & Leopold
Little Miss Sunshine
Mystery Men
No Country for Old Men
October Sky
Pirates of Penzance
Queen
Road to Perdition
Shawshank Redemption
Taxi Driver
Unbreakble
V for Vendetta
War of the Buttons
X-Men
You Can’t Take It With You
Zulu

Instigators: Blog Cabins / Insight into Entertainment

Victims:
1. Super Movie Time
2. Impromptu Audience
3. Rants of a Diva
4. Is This Seat Taken?
5. Noirishcity

9 Responses

  1. Thanks for the link! I love your list – I haven’t seen Barton Fink in years. I used the free-form for a few of them…Regarding Henry was one of my favorite movies as a kid, and I couldn’t think of another R.

  2. Yeah, I’m a sucker for anything Coen. 🙂

  3. Thanks for the link! I’m making this my next task to post on the blog. Love the blog!

  4. OK, I’ll do it the same way…………

    Atonement
    Bride of Frankenstein
    Charulata
    Dead of Night
    Europa Europa
    East of Eden
    Fanny and Alexander
    Goodbye, Mr. Chips
    Hour of the Wolf
    Intermezzo
    Johnny Tremain
    Kagemusha
    Lost Horizon
    March of the Wooden Soldiers
    Nosferatu
    Oliver Twist
    Persona
    Querelle
    Rashomon
    Sansho The Bailiff
    Tokyo Story
    Ugetsu
    Viridiana
    Walkabout
    X-Men 2
    Young Mr. Lincoln
    Zero For Conduct

  5. Picks I’m Impressed By:
    Barton Fink
    Conversation
    War of the Buttons
    October Sky

    Picks I’m Surprised Popped In Your Head First:
    Kate & Leopold
    Pirates of Penzance (I guess it’s better than Pirates of the Caribbean)

  6. Hi! Cineexcellence,
    Thank-you! for the 2nd tag,but …Rick Olson over there at Coosa Creek Cinema, tagged me already. And here goes my list of 25 best (Below) and the 5 vic… (chortle) I mean fellow bloggers that I tagged. Once again!…thank-you! for the tag!

    http://darkcitydame4e.blogspot.com/2008/11/alphabet.com/2008/11/alphabet-meme.html

  7. Hope to see you posting again soon Joseph. I bet you are busy with school, but I look forward to your return.

  8. I really enjoy your list. Especially Amelie and Barton Fink.

Leave a Reply

