Week of HORROR Fest

Fall break starts this Friday for me, and I will be staying in the dorm for the next week for work and what-not. During that time I will be catching up on a genre that has so far managed to elude me: Horror. I recently learned from a friend that he’s planning on seeing the following films this October, and the timing couldn’t be better. We’re focusing more on classic horror, including some thrillers and creature films. I hope to write up quick reviews each day (we’re planning on three a day at present) and posting them here.

Here’s the list:

  • Psycho
  • Dracula
  • Phantom of the Opera
  • Frankenstein
  • Bride of Frankenstein
  • Creature from the Black Lagoon
  • The Mummy
  • The Wolf Man
  • House on Haunted Hill
  • House of Wax
  • The Invisible Man
  • The Last Man on Earth

What classics are we missing that HAVE to be on the list?

5 Responses

  1. You should try to nab the special edition DVD of Dracula that has the option to watch with Philip Glass’ new score. I think I like it better with the new music than the old stuff. Glass is brilliant.

  2. Wow, will all of these be frist time viewings? If so I envy you!

    I caught up with Last Man on Earth and House on Haunted Hill this past year and they were a lot of fun.

    The Haunting (1963) is a great classic as well if you ahve room for more!

  3. CITY OF DEAD a.k.a. HORROR HOTEL is one you should seriously consider. And I also implore you to watch CARNIVAL OF SOULS in an excellent Criterion edition., as well as Mario Bava’s BLACK SUNDAY and BLACK SABBATH. As is though, your choices are impeccable, as is Phillip Johnston’s excellent suggestion. I look forward to your reviews. Have fun.

  4. Aside from Psycho, they will all be first-timers for me. I’m really looking forward to it.

    And thanks for the recommendations! I’ll be adding more to my over-flowing NetFlix queue.😉

  5. I would love to read a review on a Blaxploitation film, possibly Blacula. It’s classic depending on your definition of the word. 🙂

Leave a Reply

