The Goonies

The Goonies
Directed By: Richard Donner
Starring: Sean Astin / Jeff Cohen / Corey Feldman / Jonathan Ke Quan / Josh Brolin
Rating:

So I watched The Goonies last night (For the first time) Yes, I had never seen it before. I know, I know, how could I have missed such an instant classic, yada yada yada.

As I was telling a friend earlier, The Goonies grabbed my soul. From the start of the film and throughout their fantastic adventure, I was a Goonie.

I love how many actors in this film will become popular actors in the near future. They go on to such classics as Rudy, Stand By Me, The Fugitive, No Country for Old Men, The Lord of the Rings, The Matrix, and the upcoming W., to name a few.

For a film that I initially thought was going to be a cheesy 80’s cult favorite, it was put together really well. For example, the editing of the opening scene with the Fratelli’s was really good. Not to mention the amazingly moody atmosphere. The Goonies walks a fine line between realism and children’s fantasy and succeeds admirably. It was a very evocative and nostalgic experience for me.

One of the coolest parts of the film for me was when a clip from the beginning of The Sea Hawk was shown, but the music played during the scene was actually from The Adventures of Don Juan, another Errol Flynn film. It was almost as cool as seeing a scene from The Three Musketeers in Singin’ the Rain. So with that rabbit-trail out of the way…

If you haven’t seen The Goonies, rent it, watch it, love it. Regardless of your age you may come away with an awesome experience.

9 Responses

  1. It’s certainly one of the better family film romps of the era. I watched it at the cinema as a kid and just loved it.

    What must be the LOUDEST! film in the history of movie making, The Goonies puts a lot of films in this genre to shame.

    Glad you’ve finally got a chance to watch it.

  2. Very passionate and engaging capsule, Joseph, and while I admit I’m not a huge fan of it, I won’t go public as my wife and five kids would disown me!!! I know the first viewing of this film is special though, and like you I fondly recall those Errrol Flynn segments.

  3. The Goonies is always a nostalgic experience for me as it was one of those VHS tapes that went through the most wear and tear at my house when I was little. The sense of excitement at discovery and adventure is more palpable in this film than in any I can think of. The opening scene is also a favorite — the music, the atmosphere, the race on the beach, Mama Fratelli … all awesome. I’d put the film right next to Hook as a childhood live-action favorite.

    Did you know they showed this down at The Bijou the other week? That would have been a fun night.

  4. Indeed Phillip. There is a lot of love for it in this house as well. It seems to be the quite of film that defies criticism, and as such is that special breed known as the “sacred cow.”

  5. I didn’t like it back in the 80s- it felt too crafted toward my demographic- but seeing it again on the Hudson on a big screen was great, and I loved it.

  6. You’ve never seen The Goonies? What’s wrong with you! How can you call yourself a…

    Nah, I’m just kidding. For the record, I’ve never seen (or only seen parts of, on repeated TV viewings) Top Gun, Karate Kid, Gremlins, Nightmare on Elm Street (none of this one actually, nor Chucky, Jason, et al), etc etc. So I’m one to talk about unseen 80s pop classics.

    Incidentally, I have a new post up at The Dancing Image, listing all the movies included (and the blogs that suggested them) in my Holy Grail “meme” (I’m slowly getting used to that word), in which you were one of the first participants. You should check it out here:

    http://thedancingimage.blogspot.com/2008/09/finding-holy-grail.html

    Let me know what you think. Also, there’s a follow-up post which could lead to an interesting meme, though I’m not quite sure how. It features a dead mouse.

  7. I have to admit, I had never seen The Goonies before until a few years ago and thought that I was past the age to really get into it. I appreciate it for what it was, but won’t have the same sort of feelings for it as others. I missed the boat on this film for sure.

  8. Glad you were able to appreciate it after all these years, Joseph. I was probably the perfect age for it when it was released (10 or so) and yes, it’s beloved, but I can’t imagine getting beyond the hype (and the recognition of the actors) so many years later. There aren’t many movies I’d call magical without smirking, but this is one of them.

  9. I used to love this film as a kid, haven’t seen it in ages, but it’s always been a classic to my mind. It’s nice to read a review from someone who hasn’t had the benifit of seeing it with a child’s eyes, and still got something from it.

Leave a Reply

