Step Brothers Vlog / Review

Today I’m going to try something a little different. I’ve been wanting to do a car vlog of sorts where I talk about my expectations of the film on the way to the theater, and then give my initial impression of the film on the way back.

So with my Sony Mini-DV camcorder and two strips of velcro, here’s my review:

Step Brothers
Directed By: Adam McKay
Starring: Will Ferrell / John C. Reilly / Mary Steenburgen / Richard Jenkins
Rating:

After Talladega Nights (2006), which was a pretty good comedy, director Adam McKay once again teams up with actors Will Ferrell and John C. Reilley for another comedy.

The premise? Two adult ‘man-childs’ who have to learn to get along when they become step brothers. It’s as simple as that.

Step Brothers is definitely a comedy, but as I mentioned in the video, it also succeeds fairly well at being serious, mainly towards the end of the film. There have been other films that have tried this jump in mood, like Click, but it was too much of a drastic switch in my opinion. With Step Brothers the transition between these two moods works and blends together well.

Reilley and Ferrell do a good job acting like idiot kids, from the way they carry themselves physically to the way that they deliver their inane dialogue.

It was great seeing Mary Steenburgen again. I wil always remember her as Clara Clayton from Back to the Future III. And while I love Richard Jenkins (watch The Visitor if you get the chance!) it was…unsettling (?) to see him as a swearing figure. Maybe it was just a shock from watching The Visitor recently.🙂

The theater experience was quite good as well. It was a Saturday afternoon matinee, so there weren’t many of the textmessaginggigglingtalking teens there. I was surprised to discover that the 50+ crowd dominated this time around. Interesting.

(BTW, if anyone has any car-vlogging tips let me know)

—–

In others news, I have chosen to watch Cutthroat Island as my entry for the blog-a-thon. I’ve listened to the music, which I loved, and have seen it in the WalMart $5 bin repeatedly.

EDIT: I’m not doing the live-blog after all.

5 Responses

  1. Hey great job on your first vlog. You look funny when you drive but that’s ok🙂 I think I’ll take a pass on Step Bros

  2. Yeah, that’s what you get with a ‘serious’ driver.🙂

  3. Nice video blog, or vlog as they say. I’ve yet to see Step Brothers, but I sort of feel like Will Ferrels whole guise has gotten tiresome. Although, I thought he was amazing in Stranger Than Fiction.

  4. You know, having seen the way you drive and how you constantly look at the speedometer to make sure you never go 1MPH over the limit, perhaps video blogging while driving isn’t the best idea. We’ll have to try it out at during NAFF next year when you hand over the wheel to me…
    🙂

  5. Wow, cool way to review a film!

Leave a Reply

