12 Movies in 3 Days…

…if I had to make you watch them.

The craziness started with Piper and has worked it’s way down to me via Nick. Here be the rules (more like guidelines than actual rules):

1) Choose 12 Films to be featured. They could be random selections or part of a greater theme. Whatever you want.

2) Explain why you chose the films.

3) Link back to Lazy Eye Theatre so I can have hundreds of links and I can take those links and spread them all out on the bed and then roll around in them.

4) The people selected then have to turn around and select 5 more people.

So far, from what I’ve seen from the other lists, people have been spreading their films out over a sizable piece of time. Here, however, you play by my rules. We’re going to be watching four films a day from Friday-Sunday. This way you get to have a great weekend and a horrid Monday. Let the festival begin!

Friday: “You mean is has SUBTITLES?!”

WHY? I love these films. The emotion from Three Colors: Blue, the realism of The Birycle Thief, the music in Ikiru, and the power of redemption in The Virgin Spring.

Saturday “Oooookay….”

WHY? A little something to lighten the mood after Friday. We’ve got some Troma, Trey Parker, Weird Al, and an amazing performance from Geoffrey Rush.
 

Sunday You know…the one with the chin?”


(Charlton Heston, Bruce Campbell, King Kong, and Drew Barrymore, respectively, with an ‘honorable’ mention to George Lucas) 

WHY? ‘Cause chins are awesome. 

Well there you have it. Any thoughts? 

I hereby pass this on to the following: (If they so desire)

1. Movie Zeal
2. Movies et al
3. Film for the Soul
4. Film Arcade
5. 353 Review

11 Responses

  1. I accept, but it may take me a couple of weekends before I have a clear schedule.

  2. Sorry, but I just can’t sit through the 7 hour extravaganza that was King Kong. Catching pieces on TV is one thing, but all in one sitting? No way.

    I love the craziness that is Day Two.

  3. I’m SO there for the Saturday show. That’s gonna rock my world.

  4. you scare me with the Saturday and Sunday choices. Having already watched many of those movies with you I just have to shake my head.

  5. Saturday is a perfect day, Sunday….replace kingkong with Gojira, and ET with The Thing.

  6. […] as soon as I have the opportunity. I have also picked up the gauntlet yet again. I will be doing a 12 fims in 3 days blogathon soon. Cinexcellence, you have to stop challanging me to film related stuff. I do have […]

  7. I’ve been meaning to thank you for the tag. My choices are up on my site now if you fancy a look.

    I’m loving your Friday. I would be there all day long. I’ve chosen Ikiru as well; what is it about this beautiful film? Once watched, never forgotten.

    Saturday is mad but inventive and I’m sure a damn good day.

    Got to agree with Fletch, I couldn’t sit through King Kong again; not even for Jack Blacks amazing eyebrow acting. But Bubba Ho-Tep and Planet of the Apes! Totally inspired.

    Great list and thanks again for the tag.

  8. Eh, I guess I’ll pass on defending Peter Jackson for now.🙂 I did purchase the 3-Disc set recently, so when I do see it again, there will surely be a post about it. I’m curious what my reaction will be after seeing it for a 2nd time.

    And yeah, Ikiru is a fascinating little film. I’ve only seen it once, there were parts that bored me to tears, and yet there are some beautiful moments that completely captured me in ways I can’t express.

  9. I’ve been thinking about this for a while, but still working on it. Noir month is taking a lot out of me.

    Thanks for passing it along! – I meant to say that earlier.

  10. I especially like chin night. Apes and Hotep … an inspired pairing.

  11. Great foreign picks (Virgin Spring in particular may be Bergman’s finest hour — though he himself didn’t think so). I would certainly check out the cult films, most of which I haven’t seen. And I’d be there for chin day too (though you should have included Breakfast at Tiffany’s or A Face in the Crowd — Patricia Neal has the chin to end all chins).

    Except for King Kong. Sorry, but I hated it.

    You can check out my 12 movies here:

    http://thedancingimage.blogspot.com/2008/08/dirty-dozen.html

    Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

