Unseen DVD Blog-a-Thon



(Thanks to Colleen from 353 Review for the banner. If you want to post this on your blog, email me for the code)

I was sitting here thinking that it would be cool to go to WalMart, purchase a DVD that I hadn’t seen, and probably wouldn’t see in the first place, and review it here. And as they say, misery ♥ ‘s company. I’ve enjoyed participating in and reading a few blog-a-thons in the past, and they were a lot of fu n

So here’s how this blog-a-thon works. I want you to get, watch, and review a film that you would normally pass on. This doesn’t mean that it has to be one that you would probably hate. It could be one of those DVDs that you walk by all the time but never took a chance on it. But it could be one that you hate.🙂

Now I don’t want people simply renting / viewing a DVD online (NetFlix, Blockbuster, etc.), but ultimately I’ll leave it up to you. P

ick up a cheap DVD at WalMart, rent one from a RedBox, or buy a used DVD from Blockbuster store.

I’m not going to put a limit on how much you have to write. I want this to be a comfortable and ultimately, fun experience. This is a community effort, and hey, we might discover some hidden gems along the way.

When you have completed your review, you can either link to it here or send me an email (cinexcellence[at]gmail[dot]com). I will post all of the reviews together in an updated post.

The blog-a-thon starts now and will continue through Sunday, August 17th. Please help by spreading the word. Put a link on your blog, email your friends, etc.

27 Responses

  1. Sounds like a pretty cool idea.

    In a strange coincidence, I was at a gas station today on my way to Indiana and was looking at the DVDs they had there and I really wanted to pick one up for some reason. Now I know why!

    I’ll have to see what I can come up with.

  2. Sounds like a great idea. It’s never good to wallow in your own genres, and it’s always good to try something new. I might pick something random off netflix, or wander into my girlfriend’s apartment and randomly pick something from her roommate’s shelf.

  3. Great idea! As soon as I post something, I’ll send the link.

  4. I’ve got something that might work perfectly for this.

  5. Weird timing. I am participating in a 24hour blogathon for charity starting on Saturday at 5am. I have to do 48 posts in the day,and all will be film related. I have a handful of VHS and DVD’s I will be watching. Several I have never even heard of before I bought them. May be I’ll double dip on a few and send unseen stuff your way.

    Cheers

  6. Just linked to this page. If you like the button on my home page ,I’ll give you the code.

  7. I’d happily be part of this.

    Haiku Girl – Could I have the code for your little widget thingy to put on my blog?

  8. Thanks for the invite. I’ll do my best to throw one together…

  9. Strangely enough, I just picked up Adam West’s Batman movie…

  10. Haha, Batman ’66 is an excellent choice.:)

  11. Yeah, I just picked up Stardust at Blockbuster the other day. I’ve really had no desire to see it, but enough folks have sung its praises that I lumped it in with three others to make my 4 for $20 purchase complete. We’ll see…

  12. Haiku Girl threw me for a loop for a second. There’s more than one Haiku Girl?😉

    I think I’m going to participate. I’m heading to Rogers today. I’ll see what I can find in the discard bin.

  13. Cool idea, Strid … I’ll try to put something together.

  14. @ marina thinking of changing my handle…Haiku Girl seems to fit. Better than Miss Provincial!

  15. OK, I’m all set for the Sight Unseen Blogathon. My local everything and the kitchen sink video store had alot of cool VHS tapes (and some Beta).

    The score is:
    Psycho Beach Party
    Trixie
    Earth Vs. Spider
    Ninja Mission &
    Surf Nazis Must Die

    all of which I have never seen, and know next to nothing about, and only cost me 12$ with tax…..Yaaa VHS

  16. Oh wow. I actually have a VHS copy of Surf Nazis Must Die. I’m curious what you think about it.🙂

  17. I’m in…

    Though I haven’t got any idea what to watch.

  18. 1st Sight Unseen Review done. Psycho Beach Party

    http://353review.com/2008/07/27/psycho-beach-party-2000/

    Next up…. Surf Nazis Must Die

  19. Now this isn’t a “guy watches girl movie” thing really… I just hate family comedy-dramas usually, so I watched this one…

    Steel Magnolias.
    http://www.pluckyoutoo.com/2008/07/unseen-dvd-blogathon-steel-magnolias.html

  20. Mine will be up soon.

  21. #3 Sight unseen review….. Ninja Mission

    http://353review.com/2008/08/13/ninja-mission-1984/

  22. #4 and last Sight Unseen review – Earth vs. the Spider (2001)

    http://353review.com/2008/08/17/earth-vs-the-spider-2001/

  23. […] Part of the Sight Unseen Blogathon […]

  24. Finally got mine done, just hours before the deadline. Some things never change!

    Legionnaire:
    http://moviemoxie.blogspot.com/2008/08/legionnaire.html

Leave a Reply

