The Dark Knight is Awesome

The Dark Knight
Directed By: Christopher Nolan
Starring: Christian Bale / Heath Ledger / Gary Oldman / Aaron Eckhart
Rating:

(This is my spoiler-FREE review. I’ll probably write up a more in-depth review of it later)

Synopsis: Death, mayhem, and chaos swallow Gotham City as a war between good, evil, and what lies between takes place. Harvey Dent, the newly appointed D.A. of Gotham, must join forces with Batman in an ongoing initiative to root out the organized crime that permeates the city. Enter The Joker, a psychotic villian, with his own plans for Gotham.

Review: Watching The Dark Knight on an IMAX screen is an experience that I won’t soon forget. After driving by a minivan engulfed in flame on I-283 and having my GPS take me down a one-way street the wrong way, I finally made it to the showing. It was great listening to the pre-show buzz from the other people in line, hearing snatches of conversations. One that I found amusing went something like this:

“[Christian Bale] He was in Newsies”
“He was in SHAFT”
Silence.

And naturally, someone spoiled an important twist in the film. May the fleas of a thousand camels nest in your armpits, sir.

So anyways…The Dark Knight met and exceeded my expectations. Heath Ledger’s performance as The Joker was outstanding, and Aaron Eckhart fit the politician role very well. No surprises there.🙂 The Dark Knight is rated PG-13, but this is definitely not a film for the kiddies. I highly recommend checking this out, especially in IMAX if you get the chance.

4 Responses

  1. Yeah, me too. I had those same problems, except, instead of wondering where he came from, the part after the heist, and particularly the scene and plot in Japan, kind of slowed it for me. The fact they diidn’t give Joker a back story sort of made him even more creepy, and to me, ultimatly a timeless villain. Brilliant film. Probably a 9.5 or 10 out of 10 for me…

    Did they have the Watchmen trailer in IMAX???

  2. way cool, will have to check it out

  3. Yeah, there was a 15 second preview for Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince (just the title, really) followed by the Watchmen trailer.

  4. I managed to avoid spoilers before seeing it at 8:30 am (yikes) on Friday in IMAX.

    re: Josh… Japan? That would be Hong Kong.

    I’m shocking this is PG-13 there. It’s 14A in Ontario (Canada).

Leave a Reply

