AFI: All About Eve

All About Eve (1950)
Directed By: Joseph L. Mankiewicz
Starring: Bette Davis / Anne Baxter
Rating:

Another AFI film off the list. Watching All About Eve, lots of things I’d heard over the years clicked and made sense. I heard the classic line, “Fasten your seatbelts, it’s going to be a bumpy night” I finally saw a Mankiewicz film, who I’d heard about for quite some time (Although I may have seen The Virginian) And last but not least, I realized why All About Eve was listed AFI’s Heroes & Villians list, and deservedly so.

Anne Baxter put in a near-perfect performance as the title character, playing Eve with just the right amount of subtlety and charisma. I also really liked Bette Davis in the role of Margo Channing. I was reminded of Gloria Swanson’s chilling performance as Norma Desmond in Sunset Blvd. Both characters are obsessed with their own stardom and have a desire to control their surroundings. (Both films also have similar beginnings as well) Ironically, both films were released in the same year.

For a film that relies predominantly on dialogue between the many characters to tell the story,  I was surprisingly engaged throughout. This is proof that you don’t need action to tell an entertaining story.

All About Eve also has another ending that I really liked and fit the story perfectly in a circular manner. This is definitely a film worth watching.

Leave a Reply

