NetFlix Recommendations

twitter

@berutt recently posted the following on Twitter:

Looking for some suggestions for my Netflix queue. Documentaries, cult classics, comedies, non-fiction. Any suggestions?

Rather than inundate Twitter with several recommendations (140 characters just doesn’t cut it sometimes), I decided to properly respond by hammering out a quick response here. Not only will I be able to more accurately pick some films to recommend, but hey, it’s an excuse to write more. :)

Taking the genres listed into consideration, here are several films that deserve to grace anyone’s NetFlix queue:

Salesman
Dare I say, the perfect documentary? Salesman and the Maysles Brothers opened my eyes to the beauty of documentaries, from their fascinating subjects to their fly-on-the-wall style of filmmaking. (And if you like this, go ahead and add Gimme Shelter and Grey Gardens as well)

King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters
Another documentary that I fell in love with. It’s easily one of the most suspenseful documentaries I’ve ever seen, and is assembled well.

Plan 9 From Outer Space
Regarded by many as the worst film ever made, this cult classic, directed by Ed Wood, is a treat for the cinema masochist.
And as an added bonus, do your self the favor and watch Ed Wood after wards. Ironically, I consider it to be Tim Burton’s best film and Johnny Depp’s best performance.

Arsenic and Old Lace
Everyone needs to have a little fun now and again, and Frank Capra’s no exception. This off-the-wall dark comedy is an instant classic with many memorable moments.

Raising Arizona
The Coen Brothers wrote and directed. Need I say more? And Nicholas Cage’s performance is good.

The Fisher King
A fantastic film from Terry Gilliam. I’d say more, but I’d rather not ruin the experience.

What NetFlix films would you recommend?

Follow me on Twitter!
Be my friend on NetFlix!
Or not.

4 Responses

  1. “Gosford Park”

    “The Man Who Knew Too Much”

    Can’t go wrong with those :-)

  2. Thank you for the list! Plan 9 is indeed a classic, and Raising Arizona is one of my all-time favorites. King of Kong is already on my queue, and Fisher King is about the only thing I’ve ever been able to stand Robin Williams in.

    So, clearly, you are on a similar wavelength, which bodes very well for those titles you’ve mentioned that I am not familiar with. Going to fatten up my queue list now. Thanks again!

  3. I love Ed Wood and Raising Arizona.

    If you’re a Depp fan, I’m sure you’re interested in the new Alice in Wonderland:

    http://splitinfinitives.wordpress.com/2009/07/31/tim-burtons-alice-in-wonderland-in-pictures/

  4. Raising Arizona features Nic Cage’s best performance and is funny as hell. John Goodman is golden. King of Kong is the best doc I’ve seen in the last year or so. And Plan 9 is just awesome. Clearly a bad film, but it’s got a certain disarming charm.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

